Koldo Mitxelena Chair of Basque Studies

The Koldo Mitxelena Chair was created in 2012 with the support of the Etxepare Euskal Institutua. Every year, it brings a scholar within the field of Basque Studies to the University of Chicago to teach a class and give lectures and seminars on their research. The chair is named after the eminent Basque linguist Koldo Mitxelena (1915-1987), who is most well-known for codifying the standard Basque language, as well as completing the first widely-accepted reconstruction of Proto-Basque. 


The Mitxelena Chair is administered jointly by the Department of Linguistics and the Department of Romance Languages and Literatures, but is open to scholars in any field. Every year, the University invites candidacies from distinguished scholars in the Humanities or the Social Sciences, and from writers or artists working on any area of Basque culture. The selected candidate is appointed as visiting professor in residence at the University of Chicago for one quarter, and teaches a course as part of our program in Basque Studies.


Koldo Mitxelena Visiting Professors

2011-2012: Miren Oñederra

2012-2013: Joseba Zulaika

2013-2014: Miren Azkarate

2014-2015: Rob Stone & María Pilar Rodríguez

2015-2016: Marijo Olaziregi

2020-2021: Myriam Uribe-Etxebarria

2021-2022: Harkaitz Cano